Monday, December 13, 2010

18 and

Aftershock by Kelly Easton

This novel tells the story of Adam, a 17-year-old who survived a car crash in which his parents were killed.  Shocked and traumatized from the crash, Adam begins walking, with no destination in mind.  He finds people to live with, but never speaks.  Adam can't get a handle on things and decides to walk home to Rhode Island...

Okay...I have to be honest here....I didn't really love this book.  It was kind of anti-climactic.  There was some build up, but nothing to get very excited about.  I kept wondering why, after realizing his parents died, nobody looked for him.  Odd...but that is just my opinion.

Recommended for: Low-level readers (this is a pretty easy read), kids looking for something short with an interesting premise

Rated: 2.5 Stars

Genghis Khan: 13th Century Mongolian Tyrant (Wicked History Series)
I've had several of these books for awhile and had a little office time this afternoon, so I chose to spend it with a cruel, yet oddly lawful, ancient leader.  This short book was actually really interesting.  I like history, but am no scholar in the area.  Therefore, I felt like I learned some cool stuff from this book.  Did you know that Genghis (not his real name!) lost his father at the young age of nine and was raised by a single mother?  Pretty shocking for someone who built such a HUGE empire. 
Anyway, I think I'll read a few more of these.....

Recommended for : history buffs, those that like short doses of neat facts, students who like biographies, but are fearful of large books

Rated: 4.75

Friday, December 3, 2010

Almost to 20...

Still having moving adventures, but managed to finish a short book last night...

Life on the Refrigerator Door by Alice Kuipers

Both a mother and her teenage daughter, Claire, who lead hectic lives, hardly have time to communicate face-to-face, so they mostly "talk" through notes posted on the refrigerator.  Through these notes, the pair bond, fight, and share information about their daily activities, but most importantly they discuss the disease tormenting Claire's mother.  Her diagnosis of breast cancer is a shock to them both, as well as the toll it takes on their relationship.  This book is heartwarming at times, but mostly sad.  It has the possibility of being very helpful to those who have suffered in this manner.

Recommended for: Readers who love Nicholas Sparks and Jodi Picoult, students looking for a short, dramatic read

Rated: 3.5 Stars

Wednesday, December 1, 2010


In the past few weeks, I have been dealing with packing, trying to move, a book fair, Thanksgiving, three children (one of whom is sickly), and the end of a very successful school football season.  Needless to say, I am exhausted.  Also, I am falling short on my 100 book goal for this school year.  I should be nearing the halfway point soon, but, sadly, I've only read 16 books!!  Once I finally get settled (if that ever happens), I am locking myself in a room and doing nothing but reading.  Anyway, here are books 15 and 16...

Radiance by Alyson NoeI have to say that this was a ridiculously quick read (my fave kind!) and I must admit that I have not read the Immortals series, also by Alyson Noel.  This short novel shows what happens to Riley Bloom, a young teen, after she and her family are in a car accident.  Riley's sister, Ever, remains in the land of the living, while Riley and her parents are in the afterlife.  Riley regrets making the decision to join her parents and longs to be alive.  She is assigned a job as a Soul Catcher, where she is required to encourage "lost" souls to travel to the afterlife. 

This book is an interesting one, but I felt like I would be more "invested" in Riley as a character if I had read the Immortals series.  Those will now be placed on my WTR (Want to Read) list.  Have any of you read this series?  What did you think?

Recommended for: Fans of books about the dead/undead, students looking for a quick read

Rating: 3 Stars

Brain Camp by Susan Kim, Laurence Klavan, and Faith Erin Hicks

Okay...I'm not a huge fan of graphic novels, but I read so many fantastic reviews of this book that I thought I'd give it a try.  Surprise, surprise--it was thoroughly enjoyable.  I might be a graphic fan after all...
The story involves two kids who, not living up to their parents' expectations, have been sent to Camp Fielding, an educational summer camp.  When they get there, they notice that things don't seem quite right.  Not only are the kids mean, the counselors rigid, and the schedules grueling, but some of the campers seem to be really strange.  I won't spoil it for you, but it does involve alien/bird creatures and some awful people.  I liked it:)

Recommended for: Lovers of graphic novels, students who appreciate things that are "different"

Rating: 4.5 stars finish packing, moving, taking care of children, working, etc....:)